Check it out the biggest NBA champions of all times

The NBA, the world’s largest basketball competition, draws large audiences of fans who follow the top teams on the planet with stars on the floor.

Every season, clubs compete for the coveted Larry O’Brien trophy, which is awarded to the winner of the finals. But who are the most illustrious NBA champions? See more below!

Image: (reproduction/internet)

What is the NBA story?

The NBA, or National Basketball Association, was founded with the main goal of bringing together the top American basketball clubs in a single league.

This, however, was not always the case. There were two competitions in 1946: the NBL (National Basketball League) and the BAA (Basketball Association of America).

While the first attracted teams from tiny towns in gyms, the second brought the games to large venues such as New York’s Madison Square Garden. The two then united in 1949, becoming the NBA we know today.

Image: (reproduction/internet)

SEE MORE: See how much the greatest National Football League (NFL) players earn

Who are the biggest NBA champions?

However, which teams and clubs are the top champions of the Association? Check it out below the list and the number of their award.

Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers

The most NBA champions of all times are the Boston Celtics (from Massachusetts state) and the Los Angeles Lakers (from California state), who are tied for first place with 17 titles each.

The Lakers were champions in the 2019/20 season, matching the opposing club. It was difficult to halt the California squad with LeBron James in leadership of the cast. They easily defeated the Miami Heat in the finals, winning 4-2 in overtime.

The Boston squad dominated the NBA for a long period, particularly in the 1960s, winning eight championships. The most recent was in the 2007 season, when the team was invincible on the court thanks to Kevin Garnett, Ray Allen, and Paul Pierce. They defeated the Lakers, the league’s most powerful opponent, in the finals.

Some of the main players name are:

  • Bill Russell – Won the NBA competition 11 times from 1957 to 1969
  • Sam Jones – Won the NBA competition 10 times from 1959 to 1969
  • K. C. Jones – Won the NBA competition 8 times from 1959 to 1966

Golden State Warriors

Everything changed in the Golden State Warriors squad with the arrival of Stephen Curry. As the club’s all-time leading scorer, he bears a significant deal of credit for the club’s three championships in 2014, 2016, and 2017.

Furthermore, the Warriors defeated the Cleveland Cavaliers of LeBron James in all three finals in which they were declared champions, losing only in 2015. Moreover, the team gahters 6 winner titles of the competition.

Check out the complete list of the greatest NBA champions

There are a total of twenty teams on the list of the NBA’s most successful teams. So, check to see if your favorite team is there and how many titles it has.

  1. Los Angeles Lakers – 17
  2. Boston Celtics – 17
  3. Chicago Bulls – 6
  4. Golden State Warriors – 6
  5. San Antonio Spurs – 5
  6. Philadelphia 76ers – 3
  7. Miami Heat – 3
  8. Detroit Pistons – 3
  9. Houston Rockets – 2
  10. New York Knicks – 2
  11. Washington Wizards – 1
  12. Atlanta Hawks – 1
  13. Oklahoma City Thunder – 1
  14. Cleveland Cavaliers -1
  15. Dallas Mavericks – 1
  16. Portland Trail Blazers – 1
  17. Milwaukee Bucks – 1
  18. Baltimore Bullets – 1
  19. Sacramento Kings – 1
  20. Toronto Raptors – 1

Translated and adapted by Tudo Dicas

Source: NBA and DCI